Phonathon Student of the Week: Toni, Class of 2012

Every Tuesday, we’ll profile one of the amazing Phonathon students working in UMBC’s Call Center. This week, say hello to…

Toni, Class of 2012
Hometown: Lagos, Nigeria
Major: Media & Communications Studies/Sociology

What’s your favorite thing about being a caller? My favorite thing about being a Phonathon Caller is that I get to hear about the experiences of alumni and ask for their advice.

Why UMBC? I chose UMBC because I heard that it was a great school with lots of internship and job opportunities.

Do you have a favorite memory of UMBC? Last summer, there was a black-out on campus and UMBC had to transfer all the residents to a hotel.  It was a lot of fun because I got to interact with a lot of students that live all over campus and I would probably never get to spend time with.

Who inspires you at UMBC? Dr. Jason Loviglio really inspires me.  He is very passionate about what he teaches and always encourages his students to achieve their best.  He is a very fun person, but is also extremely concerned about his students and their career paths.

Do you have a favorite spot on campus? I love the Student Orgs. Space in the Commons!  It works for everything; you can study, hang out, or have a meeting there (and the chairs are pretty comfortable, too).

How are you involved on campus?  I’m involved in the African Student Association, the Media & Communications Council of Majors, and I volunteer for the Shriver Center.

What are your plans after commencement? After I graduate this year, I intend on traveling to Japan to teach English.

3 thoughts on “Phonathon Student of the Week: Toni, Class of 2012

Leave a Reply

