Why We’re Thankful

For members of UMBC’s giving staff, the Thanksgiving holiday serves doubly well in reminding us of the meaning of genuine gratitude. As we celebrate with our friends and family, we want you to know how thankful we are for you — our donors and friends who support current and future Retrievers — for all you do. And, in the spirit of the season, we’d like to share a few personal messages of thanks.

We hope you enjoy, and that you have a safe, wonderful Thanksgiving!

* * * *

I am thankful that my work with UMBC give me the opportunity to collaborate with so many gifted and thoughtful people. From entrepreneurs to engineers; from corporate leaders to community organizers; from students and alumni to parents and politicians–it is an honor to work alongside them all in our efforts to build a great UMBC!

– Greg Simmons ’04, Vice President for Advancement

I am thankful for a lot of things. I am thankful for my friends and family, who – no matter how far away we are from each other – manage to stay close and connected. I am thankful for my “Maine” roots. I am thankful for my husband who is also my best friend. He puts up with my taking more than my half of our closet, he endures bad reality television for me, and he shares my love of extra spicy foods. Most importantly, he is smart, kind, and level-headed. Lastly, I am thankful for my dog, Murphy. I love coming home to his concerned eyes, his wagging tail and his “pig runs.”

– Dayna Carpenter, Annual Giving Coordinator

I’m thankful for getting to work with such caring and driven students that see the importance and value of their education.  They want to share stories with alumni, hear about change, and show their gratitude for paving the way.

– Chad Whistle, Phonathon Coordinator

I am thankful to UMBC because it gave me an opportunity to  meet new people from different places.  Also I am thankful because there is great support from UMBC faculty and staff and there are a large number of  opportunities.

– Shivani Dharia,  IS Grad Student and & UMBC Phonathon Caller

I’m thankful for family and that I’ve lived here a lifetime which means I have lifelong friends.  I love that I’ve had the opportunity to maintain certain quirky family traditions (like using the turkey salt pepper shakers that my grandmother had on the table in the 1950’s) and create my own traditions (like corn chowder in a tureen as an appetizer, served in the dining room that keeps “helpers” out of the kitchen while I’m cooking).  Bottom line:  I try never to be complacent about what I have and try to be thankful each day.

– Carol Myers ’72, Development Officer

I’m grateful to be a part of the UMBC community. I’m not an alumna, but I feel so honored to be working with all the creative and talented students, faculty, staff and alumni here. Knowing all the amazing things that the UMBC community does makes me proud and thankful to say that I’ve got a serious case of Retriever Fever!

– Meredith Purvis, Alumni & Development Communications Coordinator

I am thankful to be able to work at a place that values creative thinking, and where I get to work with the coolest people ever — including the amazing Meredith! I am thankful for my family and friends and my beautiful son, and words and art and everything else that makes life so full and tasty.

– Jenny O’Grady, Director, Alumni & Development Communications

Leave a Reply

